Juvenile Robbery Offenses
A situation can arise in which your child is caught committing a minor theft, but due to the circumstances, the charge is increased to a robbery. If a theft involves “force” it becomes a robbery charge, which is a more serious offense, and brings harsher penalties. The seriousness of the consequences of a robbery charge makes it crucial that you obtain a qualified criminal defense attorney. The attorneys at the Law Offices of John F. Marshall have successfully represented many juveniles charged with robbery offenses, and have been able to achieve satisfactory results. Our firm has offices all over the state including Monmouth County, Middlesex County, Union County, Hudson County and Ocean County.
NJ Robbery as Applied to Juveniles
A robbery offense is really an escalated theft offense, as it constitutes the same elements of theft, but requires the use of force or threatened use of force during the commission of that theft. The element of force makes robbery a very serious offense, and the penalties for a juvenile charged with robbery include possible detention for up to four years. A juvenile can be charged with robbery, under N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1, if in the course of committing a theft, he or she: (1)inflicts bodily injury or force upon a victim, (2) threatens or puts another person in fear of immediate bodily injury, (3) commits or threatens to immediately commit any first or second degree crime—for instance, if the juvenile threatens to kill the store clerk during the course of his theft. A juvenile will be charged with robbery if he or she engages in any of these acts in an “attempt to commit theft” or in “immediate flight after an attempt to commit theft.”
Grading Juvenile Robbery
Under the New Jersey Robbery statute, N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1, if a juvenile is charged with robbery, it is usually a second degree offense. A juvenile would be charged with a first degree robbery offense, if in the course of the theft, he or she: (1) attempts to inflict deadly harm on another person, (2) attempts to inflict serious bodily injury, or (3) is armed with, uses, or threatens to use a deadly weapon. A deadly weapon is defined as any weapon that has the potential to cause death or serious bodily injury. For the second degree robbery offense, the juvenile faces up to 3 years detention. For the first degree robbery offense, the juvenile faces up to 4 years detention
A robbery charge can bring serious penalties for a young offender, and it is essential to speak with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney who can properly evaluate your child’s case. The attorneys at the Law Offices of John F. Marshall can develop an aggressive defense strategy in order to mitigate the possible severe consequences facing your son or daughter. Do not hesitate to contact our officer if you would like to obtain some free advice regarding your child’s robbery charges. We represent clients all over New Jersey, including in Monmouth County, Middlesex County, Union County, Ocean County, Mercer County, Somerset County, Essex County, Hudson County and Bergen County.