Probationary or Graduated Drivers
In the state of New Jersey, when you are issued a driver license permit for the first time, you become a probationary driver. During the two-year probation period, if you receive moving violations you could face mandatory driving programs, fines, or loss of license. Your first couple years of driving are filled with restrictions and New Jersey is not sympathetic to a young drivers mistakes. If you have violated a restriction or obtained a moving violation and are facing a loss of license or fines, then the attorneys at the Law of Offices of John F. Marshall can help. Our lawyers have a proficiency at helping our clients beat their driving tickets and retain their driving privileges. We have are available in Monmouth County, Ocean County, Union County, Middlesex County, Mercer County, Somerset County, Essex County, Hudson County, and Bergen County.
- Decals on vehicle
- No driving between 11 p.m. – 5 a.m.
- No cell phones (even if hands free)
- Only 1 passenger in car (under 21 yrs old)
Mandatory Drivers Programs
If you get convicted of two or more moving violations with a total of four or more points, not only will the court hit you with fines but it is mandatory to enroll in the Probationary Driver School Program (“PDP”) which also requires a $100 sign-up fee. The program is aimed at correcting improper or dangerous driving practices. This program can often be burdensome and inconvenient because of the time you have to dedicate to it. If you complete the program, you will receive a three-point reduction and be placed on a one-year test period. PDP used to be easily avoided by pleading to a lesser traffic offense with no points. However, the Attorney General recently put a stop to this by prohibiting courts from offering non-point plea agreements to probationary drivers. Now, more than ever, the only way to avoid these types of repercussions is to hire a good and experienced lawyer to help beat your ticket.
Loss of License
If a probationary license holder is convicted of another violation after completing the course there is a mandatory 3 month suspension. Accordingly, your eligibility to get your regular license will be postponed for an equivalent period. Furthermore, if a probationary license holder has been convicted of any alcohol or drug-related offense unrelated to the operation of a motor vehicle you will suspend the probationary license for 6 months. This means that you can lose your license for 6 months even if your drug or alcohol offense was totally unrelated to driving your car.
When you first get your driver’s license its hard not be excited or resist the urges to do what you want, when you want. However, New Jersey’s restrictions and laws make probationary drivers very susceptible to penalties. If you have a probationary driver’s license and have made a mistake that has put yourself in jeopardy of mandatory driver school or license suspension, you need to contact a lawyer today. The defense attorneys at the Law Offices of John F. Marshall are skilled at dropping moving violations and can represent you in Monmouth County, Middlesex County, Union County, Ocean County, Mercer County, Somerset County, Essex County, Hudson County and Bergen County. Every traffic violation is fact sensitive and the defense attorneys at our office are experienced in using these facts to get the violations dismissed. If you are in danger of receiving points on your probationary drivers license do not hesitate to contact our office for a free initial consultation today.